Sunday, 23 March 2014

Goodwill new King of Blitz

Namibian Champion Goodwill Khoa added another title to his list of accomplishments when he scoop the Independence Blitz Chess Tournament scoring 10 out of 11 points.

Khoa, the 2013 National Champion, had an impressive tourney, suffering a single defeat at the hands of Otto Nakapunda who finished third with 8.5. Four-time Champion Charles Eichab was the runner-up after scoring 9.5 points. Said a disappointed Eichab: “I had my eyes on a fifth Blitz title, but it wasn’t to be. The young ones are coming through the ranks now and giving us problems.”

The 24-year-old Khoa, a teacher at Jan Mohr, was surprisingly not too elated with his win. “I still don’t feel good enough; I’m not 100% happy. There’s still a lot of work to be done because everybody’s getting stronger.

It was a well-organized tournament and I’d like to thank Unam Khomasdal Campus for the venue.”
Johannes Nyandi and Immanuel Gariseb finished fourth and fifth, respectively, for some cash prizes.

The tournament saw 75 participants battle it out for top honours.
Jolly Nepando again won the Best Woman award for the second successive season.

In the u 8 age group Owen Gous was the only player to complete all games and was awareded top prize.
Hewicke Uatjiri won the under 10 category followed by Jushua Mulokoshi and Jody Hoveka in second and third place respectively.

Kevin Gurarab took bronze in the U12 age-group won by Aldo Horn and Dante Beukes who both finished with 6 points each and none of the three tie-breaks (direct encounter, progressive score and most wins) could separate the two youngsters.   

In the Under 14 category, Hiren Naidoo edged out second-placed Mubasen Hochobeb and 3-placed Nguno Vilho.

Former National Women’s champion Nicola Tjaronda took home the Under 16 title followed by Shikufa Haitembu and Etu Nangula.

Montgomery Gurirab, Kaakunga Kumujeke and Dyllan Bedja were the top three in the Under 18 section while the trio of Immanuel Gariseb, William Kamberipa and Matjiua Kajovi topped the Under 20 section.

The NCF took over the sponsorship and organizing of the event from NamSports. “We’d like to thank NamSports for having carried this tournament since its inception in 2006,” remarked NCF PRO McLean Handjaba.

The NCF forked out N$ 4000 towards cash prizes.

No comments:

Post a Comment