Monday, 12 August 2013

Undeafeated Julian Isaaks wins 2013 National Junior Chess Championship

Undeafeated Julian Isaaks wins 2013 National Junior Chess Championship

 The 2013 National Junior Closed Chess Championship brought a lot of excitement and a thrilling battle of the minds as 53 youngsters from all over the country fought head-to-head for in the capital over the weekend (26-28 July) at Academia Secondary School. A National Junior Chess Champion emerged from each age group during the 3 daylong tourney.

Uatjiri Hewicke was victorious in the U/8 section as he came in half a point ahead a promising Isabelle Els from Pro-ed Academy who came in 2nd. Aldo Horn won the U/10 section with an unbeaten score of 7/7. First time winner Iwann du Toit from Windhoek Afrikaanse Privaatskool came out top in the U/12 section, while Mubasen /Hochobeb clinched the U/14 title. The U/16 saw a female champion when the former Namibian Women’s Chess Champion Nicola Tjaronda annihilated all her male opponents and scoring an amazing 7/7. Immanuel Gariseb continued on with his tradition of always taking home a prize when he won the U/18 section. From the start of the tournament all eyes were on Julian Isaaks as tournament favourite in the Open U/20 section and the promising youngsters came out on top as National Junior Chess Champ followed by William Kamberipa in 2nd place and Willem Louw in 3rd.

No comments:

Post a Comment