Saturday, 3 December 2011

Kehat Beukes Memorial Chess Tournament from 10-11 December 2011

Venue: Protea Thϋringer Hof Hotel, Windhoek, Namibia

Date: 10 and 11 December 2011
Time:  11h00 on 10th December 2011
             11h30 on 11th December 2011

Registration: N$ 30 Seniors and N$ 20 Juniors. Players can register from 01 December 2011 till 09 December 2011. Players can complete the form and e-mail it back to or sms their names, date of birth and gender to 081 623 8160.  

Who may participate: Tournament is open to all players of all ages.

Play: All players will play under 1 section however differentiations for special prizes will be determined through the final standings.


10 December 2010:  

Welcoming by Charles S. Eichab (LOC)

Remarks by Max B. Nitzborn President of the Namibian Chess Federation (NCF)

Announcements by the Arbiter 

Round 1) 11h30 – 12h30

Round 2)12h40 – 13h40

Round 3)13h50 – 14h50

Round 4)15h00 – 16h00

Round 5)16h10 – 17h10

11 December 2010: 

Round 6) 11h30 – 12h30

Round 7)12h40 – 13h40

Round 8)13h50 – 14h50

Round 9)15h00 – 16h00

Prize- Giving at 16h20 

 Open Section:
1st Prize N$2000.00
2nd Prize N$1,200.00
3rd Prize N$800.00
Best Junior:
1st Prize N$500.00
Best Girl
1st Prize 500.00 

* Note that all prizes are subject to change and can go up but not less then the stipulated allocations above. Final announcements would be made before round 1.

* Being 20 years of age by 01 January 2011 makes you ineligible for any junior prizes.

System and rate of play: The chess tournament will be a 9 round Swiss system and the rate of play will be 30 minutes per player. 

Pairing and Tiebreak System: Swiss Perfect will be used for the pairings. Tie-Breaks will be Direct Encounter, Progressive Score, Median Buchholz and Buchholz.  

General Rules:

- Silence at all time.

- Cell phones should be switched off at all times in the playing hall. If a players’ cell phone rings during a game he or she will forfeit their game.

- No sharing of prizes. No player can win more then 1 prize

- Touch is a move unless the piece that was touch has no legal move.

- Any player who makes themselves guilty of rude behaviour will be disqualified with immediate effect.

- Any one that registers after 23h30 on 09 December 2010 will be paired only in the second round and will pay N$ 50 for registration as penalty.

-FIDE rules for rapid chess will be put up at the tournament side and players are advised to familiarize themselves with the rules.

- The Local organizing committee will be Mr. Charles Eichab and Ms. Larissa Beukes

- Members of the appeals committee are CM Otto Nakapunda, Mr. Fremantle Kuhanga and Mr. Max Nitzborn.

- All complaints should be directed to the Appeals Commitee. 

By Order

Tournament Director

CM Charles Eichab 

For more enquiries please contact CM EIchab at 081 623 8160

No comments:

Post a Comment