Wednesday, 1 September 2010

6th Namibia National School Team Chess Championships 2010

The Namibia Chess Federation (NCF) has the School Team Championships list as the last junior tournament on its schedule. We have grown from strength to strength since 2005 when we hosted our first event.

This event is important for the junior chess players to prepare them for what they can expect should they compete one day in the Chess Olympiads. The Team event is a 4 (four) player per team event and the different teams will compete against each other. This year the NCF also decided to split the high schools from the primary schools. However should any primary school team feel determined enough to compete for the ultimate crown they will have to play in the high school section.

2009 Top 3 places:
1st – Zandell Chess Academy A; 2nd – The Weekend Chess Academy A and 3rd – Kollin Foundation Secondary School A

The NCF invites every school and chess academy across Namibia to send teams to take part in the 6th Namibia National School Team Championships 2010. Every school is entitled to send 3 teams.

NCF Membership: - Every team will have 4 players. The School or Academy has to pay their annual membership fee of N$200-00 with the NCF to enable participation of their teams. Participants have to be u/20.

Registration fees: – is N$40-00 per player for primary schools (grades 1-7) and N$60-00 per player for high schools (grades 8-12)

Prizes: – N$6600 will be split between the two sections and in both sections teams will be awarded with gold, silver and bronze medals but only the high schools section winner will be crowned as the champions.

Venue: – Dawid Bezuidenhoudt High School – Hall (opposite Woermann Hyper in Windhoek, Khomasdal), Paul van Harte Street, Khomasdal.

Date and Time: – 18 September 2010 - From 08h30 till 18h00

Participants will be responsible for their own refreshments and transport to and from the venue. Schools are requested to contact Josef Nitzborn – 081 469 1522 for registration forms and more information. Registration forms should be completed and fax to the NCF at 061- 236 181 on or before 15 September 2010.

The NCF would also like to welcome and thank the early birds in Rundu Secondary School, Orban Primary School and Luderitz Secondary School for their registrations and enquiries. Will your schools’ name be in the winners for 2010? It’s your move!
Schools may download all the necessary information below: